Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
The Bill Walker Memorial Award
The Bill Walker Memorial Award was established in 1984 to recognize individuals of the Association that project the high standards and moral character that RICA member and past president Bill Walker exemplified throughout his career.   Recipients of this award are those that have greatly contributed to the Railway Industrial Clearance Association, and is the highest honor bestowed by the Association to one of its members.

A bit of history and background on Mr. Walker as provided by Ed McCouch:  "Bill’s father had been head of the clearance department for the Pennsylvania Railroad.  Bill worked in the department, taking over as manager upon his father’s retirement.  Bill was one of the finest gentlemen one could ever meet.  He was extremely willing to help and highly knowledgeable.  If you contacted Bill about a clearance load, you had a guarantee that he would check it out and do whatever was possible to work it out and develop a solution to move the load. He was a clearance man’s clearance man. He did so much for the Association in the early years  that is truly fitting we utilize his name to remember other members who further the goals and ideals of RICA.   Bill served as a Director, Vice President and President”.

Members are encouraged to present a nominee in writing to any officer, director or committee chair which in turn is presented to the RICA Chairman Ex-Officio.  The Ex-Officio selects two members from the General Membership who serve as the committee to make the final selection on a yearly basis.  At the board meeting prior to the Annual General Membership Meeting, this committee advises the officers that an individual(s) has been selected.  In some years there have been no nominees, thence no award. 

Bill Walker Memorial Award Recipients:

Year Recipient
 2017 Shane Barraclough
2016 Tom Ulrich 
2015 Jeff Ketterman
2014 Jeremy Williams
2013 Justin Gilmet
2012 Rick Ford
2011 Julie Holman & Kelli Collins
2010 Carol Boylan
2009 Lucie Huberdeau
2008 Jim Hamilton & John Flagello
2007 Mark Lockwood
2006 Steve Evans, Tony Vasil & Harry Ketterman
2005 Gabe Kassab
2004 Steve Tarr, Mike Scott & Bob Felix
2003 Joe Boehle
2002 Bill Thurow & Dick Knoll
2001 Gabe Kassab
2000 Vince Guinto & Paul Williams
1999 No Award
1998 Jim Kearney
1997 Jim Pearsall
1996 John Amos
1995 James Ormsby
1994 No Award
1993 James Riebeling
1992 E.E. Kessler
1991 Michael Covey
1990 Glenn Graff
1989 Ed Henry
1988 John Coles
1987 Donald LaPorte
1986 Charlie Smoot
1985 Joseph Ferreira
1984 Ed McCouch


2018 Premium Sponsors

contact us
Railway Industrial Clearance Association

4800 Waterfront Drive
Atlanta GA 30336
O) 281-409-0663
Railway Industrial Clearance Association membership dues are not deductible as charitable contributions for federal income tax purposes, but may be Deductible as ordinary and necessary business expenses.
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal